What the X Prize means to me…

Building an environmentally friendly vehicle that goes 100mph and get’s 100MPGe is a tall order. Building one that doesn’t look like something the Jetson’s would drive is even taller.   I’m so excited to be a part of something so amazing.  The X Prize competition is truly inspirational and worthy, in so many ways. Being a part of something that has the potential to change how we think about cars and gasoline is the next step in a lifelong love affair with cars for me. 

I’ve always loved cars.  My family was in the car business.  It’s always been in my blood.  As a kid, I’d hang around the shop and try to learn as much as I could about engines.  Then, when I was in middle school, I took a small engines class.  When we paired off to work on our lawn mower engines, our assignment was simple.   Make the lawn mower run again.  We had to strip it down completely, figure out what was wrong with it, and put it back together again.   As the end of the course neared, and the number of groups whose mowers never ran again increased, the class began watching my group with a close eye.  I recall when our engine fired right up.  What a beautiful sound!

Today, being part of a team that is going to produce a vehicle that will be environmentally friendly makes me beam with pride.

Andrea Daigle

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by citizen janey on February 28, 2010 at 12:21 am

    How exciting! The thought of an environmentally friendly vehicle that’s practical is pretty fantastic — i’m looking forward to following y’all’s progress here. Well done!

    Reply

  2. I love the thought of an environmentally friendly vehicle! I can’t wait to see what y’all come up with!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Gerald on March 23, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    But now I would guess you don’t hear the engine start so loudly…:)))

    Please keep up the work that you are doing. The rest of us need it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

