From Dreams to Reality Part I – By Peter Ward

When I first met Carl Guichard I thought to myself, this guy has a dream and he is going to do whatever it takes to make it happen. I was attending Delgado Community College in New Orleans taking Autocad drafting courses. My teacher told us we would have an engineer coming to class to teach us real world applications for our skills. Carl came to the next class and gathered a group of the best students and recruited us to help him design parts for an electric hybrid vehicle. We all thought this was just something for school. Carl explained later that we were able to take part in a project that included students from all over the region to collaborate on a few cars being designed for development and entry in to the Progressive Automotive X-Prize competition. I wanted to help in any way I could. This was an amazing opportunity. It takes someone with vision and drive like Carl to present opportunities like this to so many people. Now we can all take this dream and make it a reality.

Leave a Reply

